The Journey 📌

Scripture: As they were walking along the road, a man said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” -Luke 9:57

One of the greatest yet life changing decisions, we will ever have to make in this life is accepting Jesus as Our personal Lord and Savior. Accepting Jesus as our Personal Lord and Savior is a choice. Scripture tells us in John 3:16 that “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” You see, even God had to make a decision to send His chosen one, Jesus, to the world for humanity’s sake. I remember reading this scripture a few years ago and found it quite difficult to comprehend why God would send His son to die for all of mankind because the truth is no parent will go to the extreme of giving up their child to save the whole world but Jesus did it for you and I.

The story of the man who saved our souls became a reality when His hearts response was a solid “Yes” to the Father. Although it came with a cost, Jesus did it anyway. He died for our sins, took the shame for our sake that we may live freely in Him. Scripture tells us in Romans 3:23 that “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” From the beginning of creation, we are told that everything that God created was perfect until the fall of man took place ( See Genesis 3 ). The disobedience of man led to the destruction of humanity. The earth we live in will never be perfect but we have a Savior who we can look up to, who has come to reconcile us back to the Father.

In our key scripture today, we are told of a man who encounters Jesus on the road side and insist on following Him without knowing the cost and aftermath of His decision. Just like the man on the road side who encountered Jesus, we too will meet face to face with different sets of people that God has positioned along our path, so that we can hear the message of the Gospel. Whether it’s on our way to work, the grocery store or to school, God has a purpose for everything that He does. We don’t meet people by coincidence. Every meeting whether orchestrated by man or God is purposeful. Before it was orchestrated by man, God was already aware of it. May we not overlook or dismiss the people that God sends our way.

Every day is a gift and an opportunity to have an encounter with the Lord but yet so often, we miss the mark by getting so caught up with our own agendas that we aren’t aware and aligned with God’s plans for our lives. Though the cost of following Jesus isn’t easy, it is worth it. Following Jesus requires commitment, trust and sacrifice. We must make a decision daily to walk this journey the Lord. In the same way, we have to make a decision to go to work so that bills can be paid and food can be provided for our families, we have to be intentional with our decision to follow Christ. It is when we are intentional, that we experience the fullness of God’s presence. The more we abide in Christ, the more we become like Him. It is a promise through scripture that God will never leave us nor forsake us. (Hebrews 13:5). He is a present Father that loves and longs to have communion with His children.

Before the desire was planted in our hearts to follow Jesus, He was already pursuing us. In Luke 15, a parable is told about a prodigal son. Scripture reminds us in Luke 15:20 that “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” God’s love for us is unconditional and undeniable. Like the prodigal son, God is drawing His children to Himself. He is saying “Come”. The invitation is free because I love you. Though the cost of following comes with its own set of challenges, each of us must make a decision. As we know, with every choice that we make, there is a consequence. Too often, I hear people say “Why must there be a consequence to follow someone we don’t know and can’t see?”. Interestingly enough, we follow people’s lives on social media that we may never see in this life. The truth is following Jesus is not like following someone on social media. When we follow people on social media, we rarely know what is going on in their lives. We see highlights and we get excited but when it comes to us following Christ, we mute His notifications, play tug a war for so long making it difficult for Christ to win our hearts. Following Jesus requires relinquishing things, people and etc. Its a decision that we have to make every day of our lives. Amidst the mountains that we will face along the journey, there is an assurance of peace, joy, and perfect blessings from above. The truth is, the cost of following Jesus can never come close to all that was done for us on Cross of Calvary. The cost is free. All God wants is your hearts response to the call. It is my prayer that your response will always be Yes to the Lord in every season.

Scriptures To Ponder

Therefore you also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect. -Matthew 24:44

And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. -Matthew 10:38

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. -Galatians 2:20

He saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit. -Titus 3:5

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. -Romans 6:23

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. -2 Corinthians 5:17

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. -John 3:16

Outside of Christ, I am only a sinner, but in Christ, I am saved. Outside of Christ, I am empty; in Christ, I am full. Outside of Christ, I am weak; in Christ, I am strong. Outside of Christ, I cannot; in Christ, I am more than able. Outside of Christ, I have been defeated; in Christ, I am already victorious. How meaningful are the words, “in Christ.”

Watchman Nee

Song of the day 🥁🎼

William McDowell: Withholding Nothing

Prayer of Salvation

Lord Jesus, I thank you for this day. I come before your throne of mercy and grace. I acknowledge that I am a sinner. I am not worthy to stand before you but because of what you did for me at the Cross of Calvary, I’ve been given this privilege to know you. Forgive me of my sins and cleanse me O’ God. Make me anew. I confess with my mouth and believe in my heart today that Jesus is Lord. Come into my heart O’ God. I accept you as my personal Lord and Savior. I surrender my life to you. Thank you for a new beginning. I am yours forevermore. In Jesus name I pray. Amen 🙏🏿

Thank you for taking the time to read this blog post. God bless you. May we continue to pray for every soul that has t accepted Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior. As believers, may we continue to run the race with Christ. Have a blessed day everyone 🤗🥁

2 thoughts on “The Journey 📌

Leave a comment