Heart Talks With You

As the year wraps up, its time to reflect. If you can look back in past years, what have you learned thus far? What are some lessons you have mastered? What are you still learning?

1. Letting Go: For so long, I held on and fought for relationships especially friendships with people. It got to a point that I realized that friendship is a two way street not a one way street. If people can’t take the time to reach out to you, remember you on your birthday, or simply take the time for you as you do for them, distance yourself.

2. Communication: Expressing how I feel and where I stand in situations. I am told that I’m strong minded. Yes, I am. I will listen to you and give you my feedback but that doesn’t mean I’m going to partake in every activity your interested in that is negative.

3. Seasons: There is a season for everything. You will go through things in your life and it may seem that no one is there for you because everyone is doing their own thing but that is okay. You will cry, reach out to people and they may never get back to you but you’ll learn. Sometimes, you have to go through it in order for you to learn. It’s part of life. You will grow, live to tell your story. You have to push through every storm. You’ll learn to trust God and seek him in all things.

4. Priority: Learn to prioritize. You don’t have to be everywhere your friends are. Take time for yourself and the things that are important at the moment. Sometimes, we prioritize people who don’t make us a priority in their lives.

5. Friends: Not everyone you meet is your friend. There are associates and friends. Be careful because sometimes you think someone is your friend but they don’t consider you as their friend. They will take advantage of you. You will become the beneficiary in their lives. There are people who care for you. Don’t allow how people treated you in the past to affect how you see people in your life. There’s a season for everything. Not everyone is meant to be apart of your journey. Some people are only meant to be apart of the journey for a season and others a lifetime. Friends come and go. Don’t put your entire energy on a friendship that you can see is not beneficial. Pray for your friends and even those who are no longer friends with you. It takes courage and maturity for this one.

6. Distance: Learn to distance yourself from certain people. Not everyone means well for you. Distance in itself can show you who your friends are. Yes, we outgrow people but some people just change. Some people stop talking to you especially when they meet new people. There’s nothing you can do about it. You just learn where you stand with that person especially if you communicate how you feel and the person still does make an effort to maintain that friendship, do yourself a favor by leaving it alone.

7. God: The best relationship I have had in years. I’ve learned much through experiences and I’m thankful for them all. Drawing near. Studying the word. Attending Bible Study. Simply learning and growing in the Lord has been been amazing.

8. Storms: This too shall pass. We all go through situations. There’s no such thing as a Perfect life. Some people tell their stories out loud and some people bottle it inside. How you choose to heal is different from everyone. Don’t allow your situations to take control of your mind, all God who is in Control to take his place in every one your storms. Light will come.

9. Perspective: This is a test I have passed and I thank God so much. How you choose to view your life/circumstances can either make you or break you. I know that God is in control. If I’m feeling down or don’t understand something I lay it down. I go before Him in prayer. Even in those days, my silence is louder, God is aware. I’m thankful for my friends that are also believers. When I don’t understand something, I ask them on their take on a situation. They always give me Christ based advice.

10. God’s Will is Not My Own: Even when things do not go as intended, I thank God because his hands was in it. Asking God to have his way in my life/situations has helped and changed my life in so many ways. As humans, we always want things done at a time desirable to us but sometimes, it’s not what God intended or wants. He knows best and chooses best. Learn to seek and trust him in all your earthly doings.

From me to you: What have you learned by far in 2016? Feel free to share or even write it in a journal. As you take the time to read mine, I hope you get something out of it. God bless you all. I will be sharing more with you. Take care ✨😊

Leave a Reply

